Introductions & Social Constructions

Hiya! My name is Brandy Bowman.

IMG_0313

.(my photo)

I was born in Chiba, Japan then moved to the United States in 2000. I live in Orange County, California now, not far from the beach. I came to Newberry College to study biology and play lacrosse. I’m intrigued by research and the environmental aspects of biology, and since attending Newberry have also decided to minor in Spanish.

My interests include photography, my dog, playing lacrosse, traveling, hiking, and watching sunsets at the beach.

.(my photos)

I identify as an athlete. I know that I am an athlete because I was recruited to play lacrosse at Newberry College, a sport that I have been playing since my Sophomore year of high school. Being an athlete gives me a more active, healthier lifestyle, as well as a lot of gear that I wear, helping to identify myself as a member of the lacrosse team. Others know that I am an athlete because of the gear I wear as well as my performance in games during season.

IMG_0898

.                          (photo from Newberry College’s athletic event photographer)

 

Hi, my name is Molly Chester.

montclair_va

.                                                       (Photo from Google Images)

My hometown is Montclair, VA. It is 30 miles south of Washington D.C. Montclair is it’s own little suburbia. We have one lake with three different “beaches”, three different parks, two 7-11s, a shopping center, a library, two community pools, and finally the Montclair Country Club all within 6.2 miles.

family

.                                                     (Photo from My Pictures)

I come from a family of 5 children. I am a huge believer in family is everything. I am the middle child. My sister Hillary is 25 years old, Sam, my oldest brother is 23 years old, I am 21 years old, Ben is 16 years old, and my youngest brother Noah is 12 years old.

great white shark

.                                                   (Photo from Google Images)

Ever since I was seven I have wanted to be a marine biologist, focusing on shark conservation. My career goal is to be on Shark Week – as a scientist not as a shark attack victim. I grew up watching Shark Week and I’ve wanted to be involved with it ever since. My grandpa Jack lived on Lake Erie in Michigan every summer growing up I was constantly around water so my passion just fell into place.  Great White Shark

steelers sign

.                                                 (Photo from Google Images)

While I currently live in Virginia I was born Sewickley, PA, a small town twelve miles northwest of Pittsburgh. Naturally I am a Steelers fan as is my entire immediate family and some of my aunts, uncles, and cousins.

interior design

.                                                (Photo from Google Images)

I love everything about Interior Design. I could watch HGTV all day and spend hours in IKEA thinking of new ways to redecorate my room. Similar to clothes and accessories interior design is a form of self expression.

mollythedoll

.                                               (Photo from Google Images)

My parents wanted to name me Emma however my sister, Hillary decided my name should be Molly. My parents agreed to it without knowing that she chose Molly due to her love for the doll Molly from the tv show The Big Comfy Couch.

I identify as a sister.

I know that I am a sister because I have four siblings who come to me for support and vice versa. I feel a bond with them that can be felt through situations and memories that will last forever. We are each other’s rocks.

One situation in life where I knew I was a sister when my youngest brother Noah, was hit by a twelve passenger van while riding his bike across an intersection. Thankfully he left with a few minor scratches but I knew when I received the phone call from my other younger brother Ben that I had a duty as a sister to get there as quickly as possible to make sure that he was okay.

One situation in my life that reinforced that I am as sister to others was when I drove home Labor Day weekend to surprise my brother Ben for his 13th birthday. Only my sister Hillary knew I was coming home. My siblings knew I was a sister because I put Ben’s happiness before mine, and the other four were happy to see me as well. I chose to go home to be with my family instead of going to the beach with friends and teammates.

My name is John Mason Reynolds.

I am a senior Accounting major here at Newberry College. I am from Greer, South Carolina but I was born in Taylors, South Carolina and attended Blue Ridge High School. One of the two interests that I have are baseball. Another interest that I have is spending time with friends and family. My major is Accounting, I am interested in Accounting because I am good with numbers and I have enjoyed it ever since high school. I am also a big Boston Red Sox fan and have been ever since I was a young kid.

One identity that I have is a student-athlete. I know that I have the identity of a student athlete because I have a locker in the baseball locker room with my name on it, and I am enrolled in classes. One interaction that has reinforced the identity of a student athlete to me is when I signed my National Letter of Intent confirming that I was going to school to play baseball. An interaction that has reinforced my identity to other is because over fifty percent of my wardrobe is Newberry baseball clothes and I am always with my teammates.

 

Hello my name is Naomi Killian.

Lilburn Photo

.                                                    (Picture from Google)

I’m a student here at Newberry College. I’m from Lilburn Georgia witch is right outside of Atlanta.

 

cooking picture

.                                                     (Picture form Google)

I have a few hobbies that I like to do. One is cooking. I cook all the time and I really enjoy it. I can pretty much do everything except grill because I have never used one before.

Horror movie pitcure

.                                                     (Picture from Google)

Another hobby of mine would be watching movies. My favorite genre has to be horror or a thriller. I think being scared is always kind of fun.

forensic science picture

.                                                       (Picture from Google)

Since I was a kid I have always had a dream job and that was working in forensic science. After growing up a little bit since then I have decided that I want to be a crime scene processor. I’ve always been really interested in how forensic science works and some of the psychology that goes a long with it as well. I never really knew why I wanted to do it so bad but I would watch CSI Miami as a kid and I since then I wanted to be forensics.Lacrosse Photo

.                                                 (Naomi Killian, Personal Photo)

Another big hobby of mine is playing lacrosse. I am currently apart of the Newberry College lacrosse team and have been for the last 4 years. I have been playing 8 years total.

African American woman

.                                                          (Photo from Google)

One identity that I know I have is being an African-American woman. I know this identity because of what my parents are and I am apart of them. One interaction I have had is when I go to church. I go to a southern Baptist church and it’s called Victory. A lot of people there share the same beliefs I do and the people who attend this church are mostly African-Americans as well. Some interactions I have with other people are when I talk to them. Culturally African-Americans typically have the same type of dialect so that to me shows to others what my cultural background is.

 

Hey! My name is Mary Siebert.

IMG_0679     IMG_3985.jpg

.                 (Personal Photo)                                                (Personal Photo)

I am from Charleston, South Carolina and I play volleyball at Newberry College. I have one older sister, Claudia, who is 22 years old.

IMG_0205    IMG_3593.jpg

.                 (Personal Photo)                                                  (Personal Photo)

Two interests that I have would be going to the beach and hanging out with friends. I am pursuing a Criminal Justice major as well as a major in Sociology. I chose a major in Criminal Justice because I have always found the criminal justice process interesting and a sociology major made sense to pair with it.

IMG_3436.jpg   IMG_3604.jpg

.                (Personal Photo)                                              (Personal Photo)

The identity that I chose was female. I “know” that I have this identity because I have female reproductive organs. An interaction in my life that has reinforced that identity would be when I went to the gynecologist and had a checkup done. An interaction in my life that has reinforced that identity to others would be that when I go to the beach, I wear a bikini.

 

Hey! My name is Taylor Garrison.

IMG_0816

.                                                               (Personal Photo)

I am from Buford, GA and I play volleyball for Newberry.  I also have a younger sister that is 14 years old and a younger brother that is 16 years old. I am a freshman working towards majoring in nursing.

The identity I chose was a daughter. I ‘know’ that I am a daughter because I was born a female to my parents. An interaction in my life that has reinforced that identity would be when I was born my parents sent out an announcement that said welcoming our new daughter into the world. An interaction in my life that has reinforced that identity to others would be that when I am out with my mom and she introduces me she says, this is my daughter Taylor.

Leave a comment